Best Wishes for a Bright Future

In a used bookstore I picked up a book called Blues. Written by John Hersey, the book is a series of entries about fishing for bluefish off the coast of Martha’s Vineyard. By habit, I opened to the title page. Then, somehow, I wasn’t surprised when I found this blue-inked note, drawn in cursive and waiting to be read:

Dear A,

This is one of those books that ties all things together. I read it last summer and found that it renewed my spirit and made me hopeful once again. I hope that it has the same effect on you.

Also, if you do read it, you’ll seem like a local to the Cape Codders. 

Best wishes for a bright future. I am confident that you’ll do well.

Sincerely,

M

Leave a Reply

